Articles

My mind, My will, and My emotions?

In Uncategorized on December 28, 2008 by tarapowers

Last night I had enough of allowing my soul to be overrun with movies I’ve seen, books I’ve been reading, Christmas gifts, yadda yadda yadda. Sometimes I allow my surroundings and things going on in my life to dictate the way I feel and what I’m thinking about. When your soul is being taken over by things of this world, the things of God grow strangely dim. (didn’t that song say it the other way around?) I needed to be with my Savior, my best friend and so I went to the Truth source…The Word. I was reading and I stumbled upon a verse in Psalm 69:18a. David said it perfectly. “Draw near to my soul, and redeem it.” I began writing a song in my head that says: Draw near to my soul, and take back what is YOURS.” I get so caught up sometimes that I forget the reason I live is because of Jesus. My mind, will and emotions (soul) survive on stuff that is way less satisfying.

God, as far as I’m concerned draw near to my soul and make it YOUR mind, YOUR will and YOUR emotions in me.

TAKE BACK WHAT IS YOURS!!!

8 Responses to “My mind, My will, and My emotions?”

  1. I so understand. Joe’s sermon yesterday was so good and he made almost the exact ananlogy you did about letting our minds be filled with all the sights and sounds around us that it takes away from our most important focus. His Scripture came from I Peter 4:7 – the end of all things is near…be CLEAR MINDED and SELF-CONTROLLED so you can pray. Good, good stuff.

  2. And an AMEN: the conclusion when all has been said [and done] – Fear God and keep His commandments.

    I look forward to all the songs to come, hineybunch!

  3. something I needed to hear from another Jesus Lover… something that spoke to the depths of my heart… something that changed my mood this morning… Thank you Jesus!

  4. I just love you.

  5. That should have said “honeybunch” not hineybunch. Hahhahha!

  6. That’s funny! I thought maybe hineybunch was an inside-joke-nickname or something! I kinda like it though…maybe that will be my name new nickname for Tara…

  7. I’m looking forward to hearing the song! 😉 I love that God inspires you and that you respond. That’s awesome, Tara!

  8. I Love You, Tara!

Leave a Reply

